Lego Architecture – Empire State Building (21002) Review

empire

Lego Architecture – Empire State Building (21002): Back to another Architecture set (as you may have noticed I have an affinity for it), but if I’m honest I’m not a huge fan of this. This is one of the 2 actual buildings I’ve seen (Big Ben being the other) and this rendition certainly captures it, but unlike Pisa or Big Ben this just doesn’t have the impact of those sets. Anyway onto the review.

 

Time to Knoll: 2 Minutes

knoll

Time to Build: 4.5 Minutes

finished

 

Metrics:

  • Pieces: 77 and 25 Steps – Manual
  • Price: $19.99 (On sale for 15.98 currently) on Lego and $22.21 on Amazon
  • Volume (Based on Blob length/width/height): 32mm x 80mm x 44.8mm or 114.7 cm³ but because there’s a bit more on the top ~125 cm³

blob

 

Scores:

  • Uniqueness: 3 out of 5 Stars
  • Aesthetics: 2 out of 5 Stars
  • Fun to Build: 2 out of 5 Stars
  • Hoarding: 2 out of 5 Stars

 

What Else?

So then for this week I started getting it into my head about what I would change for this set, my problem being that to get enough Tan/Brick Yellow parts I would need to start buying sets like these which are full of them. So I then began playing around with Lego’s Digital Designer – which if you’re not familiar is basically a program that let’s you build virtual Lego sets. (You used to be able to order the set, but sadly that’s no longer available, there’s always Bricklink though!)

Anyway I began cobbling about some designs, mostly doing certain sections – but hey these reviews are weekly and doing a set like that in small scale properly (and virtually) was a little out there (but hey maybe there might be a future post when I can’t have a review for the week.)

As such I decided to see how long it would take me to do the same set virtually, (15 minutes) and then offer up the file here so that others could give it a crack as well in modifications (post them in comments below!) and look forward to usage of LDD in future reviews for more grandiose purposes.

empire_digital

 

Remix: This week there wasn’t as much to work with as most everything was the same color and size. I decided to be a bit creative to move pieces around so it wasn’t as uniform and made a windmill.

windmill

 

Final Thoughts: Overall like I’ve said while I get the mindset of a set that is the most distilled essence of the set, and not an accurate representation – it’s not my favorite. Having seen the other Architecture sets this just doesn’t feel as nice – it lacks the impact that the other sets bring to the table.

Final Score: 2 out of 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

